Barry Gibb Unveils Country-Themed Album With Dolly Parton, Jason Isbell, More

Former Bee Gees cofounder Barry Gibb has announced “Greenfields: The Gibb Brothers Songbook, Vol. 1,” an album of the group’s greatest hits featuring collaborations with some of country music’s biggest stars, including Dolly Parton, Brandi Carlile, Keith Urban, Alison Krauss and many more — see the full lineup below, and check out the first song, a duet with Jason Isbell on “Words of a Fool.”

The album comes out Jan 8 on Capitol.

“A lifelong bluegrass and country music fan, legendary singer, songwriter and producer Barry Gibb has long dreamed of a project that would bring him together with some of the artists he admires the most,” the announcement reads. “With the help of Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb, that dream has become a reality.”

Of the experience, Gibb says, “From the first day we stepped into RCA Studios in Nashville (the very place where Elvis, Willie, Waylon, Roy, the Everly Brothers and so many other legends made their magic) the album took on a life of its own. I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with Dave and all the artists who stopped by. They were all incredibly generous with their time and talent. They inspired me more than words can express. I feel deep down that Maurice and Robin would have loved this album for different reasons. I wish we could have all been together to do it…but I think we were.”

Dave Cobb comments, “It was truly an honor to work with one of my heroes. The Bee Gees’ first album has always been a staple for me and it was surreal to get to witness the genius of Barry Gibb in the studio—he’s one of the greatest of all time!”

Jason Isbell adds, “Barry Gibb is one of the greatest songwriters and singers in popular music history, and I’m happy to say he still has that beautiful voice and that magical sense of melody. Working with him on this project has been one of the great honors of my career. He’s a prince.”


  1. “I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You” with Keith Urban
  2. “Words of a Fool” with Jason Isbell
  3. “Run to Me” with Brandi Carlile
  4. “Too Much Heaven” with Alison Krauss
  5. “Lonely Days” with Little Big Town
  6. “Words” with Dolly Parton
  7. “Jive Talkin’” with Miranda Lambert, Jay Buchanan
  8. “How Deep Is Your Love” with Tommy Emanuel, Little Big Town
  9. “How Can You Mend A Broken Heart” with Sheryl Crow
  10. “To Love Somebody” with Jay Buchanan
  11. “Rest Your Love On Me” with Olivia Newton-John
  12. “Butterfly” with Gillian Welch, David Rawlings


Source: Read Full Article