Soul Train Awards 2020: H.E.R. Dominates With Eight Nominations, Chris Brown Follows With Seven

The two R ‘n’ B stars are up against one another in the category of Song of the Year, Video of the Year, Best Collaboration as well as The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award.

AceShowbiz -R&B stars H.E.R. and Chris Brown will be the ones to beat at the 2020 Soul Train Awards.

H.E.R. leads all nominees with eight mentions, followed by Brown with seven, and they will face off with one another for the top prizes of Song of the Year, Video of the Year, Best Collaboration and The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award – all for their respective hits “Slide”, featuring YG, and “Go Crazy” with Young Thug.

H.E.R. is also up for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, being pitted against other renowned stars including Alicia Keys, Beyonce Knowles, Brandy, Jhene Aiko and Summer Walker. She doubles her chance to win the Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award as her song “I Can’t Breathe” also shows up as a nominee in the category.

Breezy, meanwhile, earned his other nominations for Best R&B/Soul Male Artist, which sees Anderson .Paak, Charlie Wilson, PJ Morton, The Weeknd and Usher as other contenders for the prize. He additionally vies for Best Dance Performance title, once again thanks to his collaboration with Young Thug, “Go Crazy”.

Other multiple nominees include Beyonce and Young Thug with six apiece, and Usher, Chloe x Halle and Summer Walker with five each.

The 2020 Soul Train Awards, which honor the best in soul, R&B and hip-hop, will air on 29 November.

“Martin” co-stars Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will reunite to host the ceremony for the third consecutive year.

Here is the full list of nominations:

Song of the Year:

  • Beyonce Knowles – “Black Parade”
  • Chloe x Halle – “Do It”
  • Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”
  • H.E.R. Feat. YG – “Slide”
  • Summer Walker & Usher – “Come Thru”
  • Usher Feat. Ella Mai – “Don’t Waste My Time”

Album of the Year:

  See also…

  • CMA Awards 2020: Lady A Pulls Out at Last Minute Due to COVID-19 Exposure
  • CMA Awards 2020: Miranda Lambert Scores Early Video of the Year Win
  • Christina Aguilera in ‘Work Mode’ After Joining Jay-Z’s Roc Nation
  • Old Dominion Win Big at 2020 ASCAP Country Music Awards
  • Brandy – “B7”
  • Chloe x Halle – “Ungodly Hour”
  • Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Slime & B”
  • Jhene Aiko – “Chilombo”
  • Summer Walker – “Over It”
  • The Weeknd – “After Hours”

Video of the Year:

  • Beyonce Knowles, Blue Ivy, Saint JHN & Wizkid – “Brown Skin Girl”
  • Chloe x Halle – “Do It”
  • Chris Brown – “Go Crazy” Feat. Young Thug
  • H.E.R. – “Slide” Feat. YG
  • Lizzo – “Good as Hell”
  • Skip Marley & H.E.R. – “Slow Down”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist:

  • Alicia Keys
  • Beyonce Knowles
  • Brandy
  • H.E.R.
  • Jhene Aiko
  • Summer Walker

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist:

  • Anderson .Paak
  • Charlie Wilson
  • Chris Brown
  • PJ Morton
  • The Weeknd
  • Usher

Best Collaboration:

  • Chris Brown Feat. Young Thug – “Go Crazy”
  • H.E.R. Feat. YG – “Slide”
  • Ne-Yo Feat. Jeremih – “U 2 Luv”
  • Skip Marley & H.E.R. – “Slow Down”
  • Summer Walker & Usher – “Come Thru”
  • Usher Feat. Ella Mai – “Don’t Waste My Time”

Best New Artist:

  • Giveon
  • Layton Greene
  • Lonr.
  • Saint JHN
  • Snoh Aalegra
  • Victoria Monet

Rhythm & Bars:

  • Cardi B Feat. Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”
  • DaBaby Feat. Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”
  • DJ Khaled Feat. Drake – “Popstar”
  • Drake Feat. Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”
  • Megan Thee Stallion – “Savage”
  • Roddy Ricch – “The Box”

Best Dance Performance:

  • Beyonce Knowles, Shatta Wale & Major Lazer – “Already”
  • Chloe x Halle – “Do It”
  • Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”
  • Danileigh Feat. DaBaby – “Levi High”
  • Missy Elliott – “Why I Still Love You”
  • Teyana Taylor – “Bare Wit Me”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award:

  • Bebe Winans
  • Kirk Franklin
  • Koryn Hawthorne
  • Marvin Sapp
  • PJ Morton
  • The Clark Sisters

Soul Train Certified Award:

  • Brandy
  • Fantasia
  • Kelly Rowland
  • Ledisi
  • Monica
  • PJ Morton

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award:

  • “Black Parade” – Written By: Akil King, Beyonce Knowles Carter, Brittany Coney, Denisia Andrews, Derek James Dixie, Kim “Kaydence” Krysiuk, Rickie Caso Tice, Shawn Carter, Stephen Bray (Beyonce Knowles)
  • “Do It” – Written By: Chloe Bailey, Halle Bailey, Scott Storch, Victoria Monet, Vincent Van Den Ende, Anton Kuhl (Chloe x Halle)
  • “Go Crazy” – Written By: Cameron Devaun Murphy, Christopher Brown, Dounia Aznou, Jeffrey Lamar Williams, Johnny Kelvin, Kaniel Castaneda, Omari Akinlolu, Orville Hall, Patrizio Pigliapoco, Phillip Price, Said Aznou, Soraya Benjelloun, Tre Samuels, Turrell Sims, Wayne Samuels, Zakaria Kharbouch (Chris Brown & Young Thug)
  • “I Can’t Breathe” – Written By: H.E.R. (H.E.R.)
  • “Playing Games” – Written By: Summer Walker, Bryson Tiller, London Holmes, Kendall Roark Bailey, Cameron Griffin, Aubrey Robinson, Beyonce Knowles, Kelendria Rowland, Letoya Luckett, Latavia Roberson, Lashawn Daniels, Fred Jerkins III, Rodney Jerkins (Summer Walker Feat. Bryson Tiller)
  • “Slide” – Written By: Charles Carter, Elijah Dias, H.E.R., Jermaine Dupri, Keenon Daequan Ray Jackson, Roger Parker, Ron Latour, Shawn Carter, Steven Arrington, Tiara Thomas, Waung Hankerson (H.E.R. Feat. YG)

Source: Read Full Article