Strictly Come Dancing 2021 line-up: FIRST celebrity contestants confirmed – FULL LIST

Strictly: Tom Fletcher announced as contestant

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Strictly Come Dancing is back and with the coronavirus pandemic still having an impact on the world, it will be a welcome relief for fans of the show to escape the news on a Saturday evening. With the BBC programme making its annual comeback, the list of celebrities who will be taking part has officially been announced. The famous faces will compete against each other to get their hands on the Glitterball Trophy and take the title from reigning champion, Bill Bailey, 56. As promised, show bosses have delivered on the line-up for this year’s all-star competition.

As soon as the 2020 season came to an end, the rumour mill went into overdrive as to who could be signing up to take part.

There were some big names rumoured to be signing up and in the coming days, it will be revealed whether some or all of them have joined the show’s stellar cast.

Following his success in the Tokyo Olympics, it was reported diver Tom Daley, 27, was going to be swapping his swim shorts for colourful suits.

His signing could make history as it is also reported he will be part of the first same-sex male couple to compete.

Rugby player Ugo Monye, 38, is also rumoured to be signing up as he makes the move from the pitch to the dance floor.

Former Good Morning Britain host Piers Morgan, 56, is also thought to have been approached by bosses to compete.

Ladbrokes bookmakers have the broadcaster’s chances of signing up at 8/1 following his decision to quit his ITV role earlier this year.

Professional footballer and presenter Peter Crouch, 40, is also thought to be on Strictly bosses’ radar to take part.

His wife, Abby Clancy, 35, won the show back in 2013 and Ladbrokes think he could be following in her footsteps with odds at 7/2.

Gordon Ramsay’s, 54, daughter Matilda Ramsay, 19, is also thought to be unveiled as a contestant after it was reported she was supposed to sign up last year.

With a last-minute injury ruling her out of the competition, according to reports, an unnamed source has said she is ready to take part in the coming weeks.

So did any of the rumoured celebrities make the cut? The first confirmed celebrities taking part were revealed on Wednesday’s The One Show.

The Strictly Come Dancing 2021 confirmed line-up is as follows:

Tom Fletcher

McFly band member Tom Fletcher is hoping to follow in wife Giovanna’s footsteps following her I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here! victory last year by bagging a reality TV title of his own.

AJ Odudu

Tv presenter AJ Odudu will be hoping to impress the judges as she takes to the Strictly dancefloor later this year.

Best-known for her work on Channel 5’s Celebrity Big Brother and ITV’s Apocalypse Wow, AJ looked over the moon when she was unveiled as one of the first contestants on The One Show.

Robert Webb

Comedian and actor Robert Webb is no stranger to BBC dance contests having secured glory in Let’s Dance for Comic Relief.

The star’s best-known for his work alongside fellow writer David Mitchell thanks to the pair’s work on Peep Show, Back, and That Mitchell and Webb Look.

Farage delivers another scathing RNLI rant ‘Woke and out of touch’ 
Bradley Walsh brings The Chase to a standstill after wardrobe mishap
A Place in the Sun’s Jasmine Harman taken aback by couple’s U-turn


2004 winner: Natasha Kaplinsky

Newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky was the first celebrity to win the BBC dancing series, which originally aired in July of 2004. She was partnered with Brendan Cole. They finished 39 points ahead of competitor Christopher Parker.

2004 winner: Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny was the second star to impress the judges with her dancing skills. Partnered with Darren Bennett, the pair beat off competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis in December of 2004.

2005 winner: Darren Gough

Cricketer Darren Gough won the third series of Strictly. He and partner Lilia Kopylova wowed audiences but never once finished at the top of the leaderboard.

2006 winner: Mark Ramprakash

Mark Ramprakash was the fourth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He was partnered with Karen Hardy and they were the first couple to restart a routine after their initial attempt saw Mark’s microphone get caught in Karen’s dress.

2007 winner: Alesha Dixon

Before becoming a Strictly judge, Alesha Dixon won the nation’s hearts and the Glitterball Trophy during the fifth series. She was partnered with professional dancer Matthew Cutler.

2008 winner: Tom Chambers

Holby City star Tom Chambers was partnered with Camilla Dallerup when he won the sixth series. He performed the Foxtrot and Salsa in the final week.

2009 winner: Chris Hollins

BBC Breakfast presenter Chris Hollins and his professional partner Ola Jordan surprised viewers when they beat Ricky Whittle and his partner Natalie Lowe in the final. They wowed with the Foxtrot, Charleston, Lindy Hop and Showdance.

2010 winner: Kara Tointon

Kara Tointon was the eighth celebrity to win Strictly. She danced with Artem Chigvintsev and failed to receive 40 points throughout her time on the show.

2011 winner: Harry Judd

Former McFly star Harry Judd was the ninth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He didn’t top the leaderboard until week seven but then scored 40 points twice in the final.

2012 winner: Louis Smith

The 10th series of the BBC show was won by Olympian Louis Smith. He danced his way to victory with professional partner Flavia Cacace. He faced competition from Kimberley Walsh, Denise Van Outen and Danni Harmer in the series finale.

2013 winner: Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy won series 11 of Strictly alongside partner Alijaz Skorjanec. She was called a “spectacular dancer” with “wonderful posture” by former head judge Len Goodman.

2014 winner: Caroline Flack

Love Island host Caroline Flack took to the dance floor in series 12 where she scooped the Glitterball Trophy with Pasha Kovalev.

2015 winner: Jay McGuiness

Jay McGuiness surprised viewers when he won the 13th series of the BBC dancing competition with Aliona Vilani. When he learned he’d won, he told host Tess Daly: “I feel spaced out – it’s really weird.”

2016 winner: Ore Oduba

Ore Oduba won the 13th series of the BBC dancing competition with Joanne Clifton. The sports presenter broke down in tears after beating Danny Mac and Louise Redknapp.

2017 winner: Joe McFadden

Joe McFadden was victorious with professional dance partner Katya Jones. The Holby City star beat off competition from fan favourite Debbie McGee, Gemma Atkinson and Alexandra Burke.

2018 winner: Stacey Dooley

Documentary-maker Stacey fought off competition to make it to the Grand Final of Strictly Come Dancing with professional dance partner Kevin Clifton last year. When they won, Kevin described her as “the most wonderful person”.

2019 winner: Kelvin Fletcher

Late to the Strictly Come Dancing party, Kelvin signed up after Jamie Laing was forced to pull out with an injury. But that didn’t stop the Emmerdale actor from dancing up a storm with professional partner Oti Mabuse.

2020 winner: Bill Bailey

Musician and comedian Bill became the oldest celebrity to win the competition and gave Oti her second consecutive win. The star defied the odds to take the crown and quickly became a fan favourite on the show.

Strictly Come Dancing is scheduled to return later this year on BBC One.

Source: Read Full Article